content top

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can participate?
Medical, nursing, and allied health students.

How do I get involved?
Contact your UTMB or UTHSCSA chapter director to find out current information regarding outreach trips, and educational training sessions.

UTMB Contacts:
Abel Flores, Galveston Community Outreach Student Director abflores@utmb.edu
Michael Do, Co-Director Brownsville Mission Trip  mjdo@utmb.edu
Ugo Awa, Co-Director Brownsville Mission Trip uuawa@utmb.edu
Brittnay Graham, Co-Director Gynecology Clinic bmgraham@utmb.edu
Carlos Garcia-Jasso, Co-Director Gynecology Clinic ca5garci@utmb.edu
Wendy Cleboski, Healthy Living Events  wgclebos@utmb.edu 

UTHSC-San Antonio Contacts:
Courtney Hobza, SOM Student Leader Hobza@livemail.uthscsa.edu
Joel Sarmiento, SOM Student Leader SarmientoJ@livemail.uthscsa.edu
Janitzio Guzmán Medina, SOM Student Leader GuzmanJJ@livemail.uthscsa.edu 

UTHSC-Houston Contacts:
Anthony Burton, Student Leader Christian.A.Burton@uth.tmc.edu
Eric Crowell, Student Leader Eric.L.Crowell@uth.tmc.edu
Denise Fraga, Student Leader Denise.N.Fraga@uth.tmc.edu

UT Southwestern Medical Center Contacts:
Kristen Carter, Student Leader Coordinator Kristen.Carter@UTSouthwestern.edu
Ryan Fleming, Co-Director of Education Ryan.Fleming@UTSouthwestern.edu
David Mendez, Co-Director of Education David.Mendez@UTSouthwestern.edu
Xuan Yao, Director of Recruitment Xuan.Yao@UTSouthwestern.edu

What do students do?
Students are vital to the function of this organization. They serve as examiners, translators, educators, and advisors.

Do we need experience?
No. These trips are designed not only to help those in need in the community, but it also provides a chance for upper level students to utilize their education and training to education those students who have not had the exposure or training.

Do we need to speak Spanish?
No. Although the majority of these patients only speak Spanish, there are bilingual students who help with translation. There is always someone around with Spanish language ability.

Do we need to find our own transportation?
No. The trip to Brownsville is approximately 7-8 hours and transportation is provided. Some students elect to drive on their own and meet us there.

Do we provided our own housing?
No. Housing is graciously provided though the Area Health Education Council. Some students elect to stay with family or stay on their own.

How long is the trip and how often are they?
These are weekend trips, leaving Friday at approximately 5pm and returning on Sunday between 9 and 10pm. Usually the trips are scheduled every 6 to 8 weeks.